Using Drawings to help Mulitiply

I have a minority of students that still struggle with how to multiply.  Here are a couple ways that you can multiply by drawing pictures.  I learned these two ways from Do The Math.
We have the equation 6 x 6.  First I want to draw 6 circles. 

For the other factor, I am going to draw 6 stars in each circle.
Finally, I count my stars.  I figured out that 6 x 6= 36.
Another way we can multiply with drawings is by drawing rows and columns.
We have our equation 5 x 4.  First I want to draw 5 rows.

Then I am going to draw four columns.
When the lines intersect, I am going to draw a circle.


Finally, I count my circles and I have 5 x 4 = 20.
These are two great ways to teach multiplication to students.  I have seen some students stop doing this after they remember their facts.  I do have a small group that still does this, but I think over time they will remember their multiplication facts.

Leave a Reply

